The area of Winthrop Massachusetts was settled by the Norsemen, who may have visited the beaches and forests for refreshment. They would have enjoyed the abundance of sea-food and game that is found in the area. Winthrop is home to many well-known historical figures, including John Winthrop. Listed below are some interesting facts about Winthrop. And don’t forget to check out Winthrop’s earliest residents.
The Town of Winthrop has a weekly newspaper, the Sun Transcript, which covers local news. There is also a private 9-hole golf course, the Winthrop Golf Course. The town’s entry in the 1911 edition of the Encyclopaedia Britannica cites the community’s first mayor as Henry Adams. For residents of all faiths, Winthrop is a place to find a place of worship.
The city hall of Winthrop, Massachusetts, is located at the address given above. Its customer service representatives can be contacted through phone, email, or in person. The town has 3 bank branches. The most popular bank in Winthrop is Citizens Bank, National Association. Other branches include East Boston Savings Bank of America. The city has numerous restaurants and cafes. The town has several schools and public libraries. Moreover, Winthrop has a large selection of shopping centers.
A few noteworthy facts about Winthrop, Massachusetts include the fact that the town was populated by Indians before the white man arrived. Most of these Indians used the town during the winter and summer seasons, but their names are lost in the historical records. The town is almost debt-free, and the streets are paved and sidewalks are installed. All municipal facilities are paid for in full. And the town’s history is rich, as can be seen in its diverse events and notable men.
In 1874, Dr. Samuel W. Ingalls purchased land in the vicinity of Winthrop’s Shirley Station, which was near the shore of the Atlantic. The Dr. Ingalls family later sold the Atlantic Wave property to Dr. Edward Floyd, and Dr. David Floyd Senior laid out Ashmont and Locust avenues on their land. The town was also renamed Pullen Point. In addition, a part of the town was called Battery, and later named Belle Isle. Other sections of Winthrop included Cottage Park, Court Park, Point Shirley, Thornton, and Weston.
In 1682, John Winthrop gave refuge to Captain Horton. Horton had sailed from the island of Nevis when a great snow storm hit the area. The cables were broken during a storm, and the Captain drove ashore near Cottage Hill. Afterward, the six men groped their way into Mr. Deane Winthrop’s house, and he took shelter there. They were later killed by Indians and were buried in the town.
In 1851, Chelsea, Revere, and Winthrop sat between Boston and New Hampshire. In 1739, Chelsea and Winthrop were annexed by Boston. In 1637, the peninsula was divided into 15 plots of land. This land was used to farm cattle for the Boston men’s ranches. In 1739, Winthrop incorporated as a town, Chelsea. In 1852, the northeastern two-thirds of the peninsula became a separate town called Winthrop.